Bernard N. Fields was the Chair of the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics from 1982 until his untimely death in 1995. From 1975 until 1994, Bernie was Chief of Infectious Diseases at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital. He was widely recognized as a world leader in defining how viruses cause disease. In the Harvard and international microbiology communities, Bernie was known for his warmth, his leadership, and his generous mentoring of students.

The Department and the Charles R. Shipley, Jr. Foundation honor Bernie’s memory every year by awarding the Bernard N. Fields Prize. The Prize is awarded to the candidate for the degree of Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Philosophy, or both, who, in the judgement of the prize selection committee, best exemplifies the virtues of intellectual creativity, collegiality, and compassion displayed by Bernard N. Fields. The Fields Prize consists of a monetary award generously provided by the Shipley Foundation.


2023  Ian Roney, Ph.D.
2022  Brianna Duncan-Lowey, Ph.D.
2021  Jennifer Helble, Ph.D. & Patricia Rohs, Ph.D.
2020  Kaitlin Schaefer, Ph.D.
2019  Joseph Cabral, Ph.D.
2018  Jessica Chiang, Ph.D.
2017  Lindsey Robinson, Ph.D. & Sizun Jiang, Ph.D.
2016  Alexander Meeske, Ph.D.
2015  Kevin McCarthy, Ph.D.
2014  Matthew Gardner, Ph.D.
2013  Megan Orzalli, Ph.D.
2012  Michael Alpert, Ph.D. & Philip Kranzusch, Ph.D.
2011  Rachel Dutton, Ph.D.
2010  Mary Rodgers, Ph.D.
2009  Vincent Tam, Ph.D.
2008  Melina Agosta, Ph.D. & Laura Burrack, Ph.D.
2007  Aimee Shen, Ph.D.
2006  Zarine Balsara, M.D., Ph.D. & Nate Goehring, Ph.D.
2005  Brian Gregory, Ph.D.
2004  Laura Gougas, Ph.D.
2003  Bryce Nickels, Ph.D.
2002  Kenneth Bradley, Ph.D.
2001  Erik Zinser, Ph.D.
2000  Lisa Schecter, Ph.D.
1999  Arne Rietsch, Ph.D.
1998  Ericka Lyszak Benson, Ph.D.
1997  William Prinz, Ph.D.
1996  J. Keith Joung, M.D., Ph.D. & Jill C. Milne, Ph.D.
1995  Xiao Tong, Ph.D.
1994  Alan Derman, Ph.D.
1993  Max L. Nibert, M.D., Ph.D.